Quit your job and become a farmer??

So I get a lot of questions about what I do for a living.   The answer is very complicated.  My wife and I used to be business owners and we SOLD OUT!!!  She went back to work after  few months and I was designated to be the “stay at home” dad.  At the same time we moved from suburbia to a small 4 acre hobby farm.

At first my role was to take care of our son, and keep monthly costs low since we had only 1 income.  Slowly over time my role evolved to small acreage farmer.  With that evolution came increased monthly costs.  That’s when my wife and I sat down and came up with a few guidelines for our farm.  Following these guidelines might make the difference between success and failure. They were as follows:

  1. Every animal or plant had to benefit the farm and our budget.
  2. Every expense had to be scrutinized by both of us.
  3. Track everything..all income and expenses without exception.
  4. Don’t be ashamed to utilize alternative income methods.
  5. When in doubt….SAY NO!!!

I have decided to write a 5 part series touching on each of these.  Within the series there will be links to pages and sites I found useful as we grew.  Some processes and ebooks were free, and some were not.  However, using rule #2 kept us from useless costs.  In the end I will tell you exactly what we do today on our farm, and what we could be doing better.  Over 5 years in and we are still learning everyday.  Throughout the series if you have additional questions please feel free to ask.

The series should start June 10th and finish by June 16th.  Enjoy and happy farming!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

