The Scoop on the Coop

So over the past few years I have constructed or bought many different chicken coops. One thing I have learned is coops come in all shapes and sizes, and you can spend various amounts on your coop. No matter the look or cost your chickens will love it as long as they are safe, dry, and out of the wind.
The 1st bit of advice I would give is to get your hands on some chicken coop plans. You can get plans from all sorts of places. The internet is crawling with information. You can get plans for free, but my experience is that those plans are usually lacking detail. If you are an experienced woodworker then you will be all set. However, if you are new to chickens and woodworking I would suggest paying for coop plans that are more detailed.
Now you might be thinking it would be easier to just buy a chicken coop that is already built. That is always an option. However, ask yourself a serious question. Why did you want to hobby farm? Why do you want chickens? For me the answer was simple. I wanted to simplify my way of living. I wanted to learn how to build things and be resourceful. I no longer wanted to depend on big box stores. Part of the process was the initial build and preparation. Also, my family’s income dropped when we started hobby farming. If I could buy some coop plans, build a coop, and SAVE MONEY then I succeeded.
Pre fab coops sell for a ton of money if they are built to last. I was looking at some chicken tractors the other day that were over $1400 each. They only housed 10 hens or less. Trust me when I say that you can build a coop yourself for much much less. I have built coops for less than $100.
Lastly, when you are putting together your materials to build the coop try to re-purpose things. If you look on Craigslist or local Facebook sales pages you can often find wood for cheap. Remember that other people might have left over lumber from a project they completed. I once picked up ten 12’ 2×6 for free from a construction site. When I asked the worker about the lumber he informed it was being thrown out. He then told me to take it if I wanted it. Just keep your eyes open when out and about in your community. Then there are always pallets. They seem to be everywhere. They work great for all types of projects.
One last tidbit before I go. If you can build your own chicken coop you can build most other animal housing as well. Horse runs, goat sheds, and lambing huts to name a few. They are far easier to build because they don’t have roosting bars and nest boxes. Most don’t have doors or windows. Good luck on your build. I am sure your chickens will thank you for it!!

2 thoughts on “The Scoop on the Coop”

  1. Great info :). We caved and bought a flat pack online for our first coop. I wish we’d built our own. The bought one cost a fortune then there was the postage! Next time we’ll be doing our research and building ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

