Just have to love the Backyard Chicken Movement!!!!

So as some of you may know I sell pasture raised broilers and fryers.  I usually get somewhere around $4 a pound if you figure it all out.  I discovered last year that I could make more money with less work by selling started pullets.  I sell my 16+ week old pullets for $15 each no matter the breed.  Most of the time they are production reds or barred rocks.  It is a lot less work for sure.  The difference is I usually sell broilers by the 20 count and these pullets 2 or 3 at a time.  No matter,  it is still a lot less work.  I am thinking next year I may have to only raise pullets.  What do any of you think??

BTW this is not really my planned blog for the week.  I just couldn’t stop thinking about this for some reason.  Stat tuned for my blog on Chicken Coops and Coop Plans.  Hopefully I will have it finished tomorrow.

Have a GREAT DAY!!!

Author: Chris

A small hobby farmer with a profound love for goats, chickens, quail, and most things outdoors!!

1 thought on “Just have to love the Backyard Chicken Movement!!!!”

  1. Sounds like a great plan. I’m thinking of selling heritage turkey poults. I had pretty good luck getting eggs this season, but my hens were lousy sitters and I waited too long to get the eggs under an incubator. Next time around I’m going to put them under broody chickens and see what happens.

    Like

Leave a Reply

